

26 July 2010, London, UK

Theatres Trust response to DCMS Written Ministerial Statement

"In recognition of the important role of The Theatres Trust, we are pleased to have received the assurance that we will continue as the national advisory public body for theatres, operating as an independent statutory advisory body. The Theatres Trust remains a body corporate and the objects of The Theatres Trust Act 1976 and The Theatres Trust (Scotland) Act 1978 will remain in force.

The only change will be the transfer of the powers of appointment of The Theatres Trust's trustees from the Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport to The Theatres Trust.

We will be working with the DCMS to ensure that this process is managed smoothly and there will be no impact on the Trust's statutory work. We anticipate a saving of administrative time as a result of the transfer of powers of appointment, however we will need to allocate internal resources to manage the transition. The Secretary of State will remain responsible for any trustee appointments until the transition is complete."

ENDS

For further information contact Kate Carmichael: 020 7836 8591 kate.carmichael@theatrestrust.org.uk

Protecting theatres for everyone

Director Mhora Samuel Chairman Rob Dickins CBE
Trustees Jason Barnes, Phil Clark, Marilyn Cutts, Venu Dhupa, Tim Foster, Penelope Keith CBE DL,
Dr Pauleen Lane CBE, Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall, Anne McReynolds, Matthew Rooke,
Chris Shepley CBE, Sam Shrouder, Ben Twist



Notes for Editors

About The Theatres Trust:

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. It was established by The Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres'. This applies to all theatre buildings. Our main objective is to safeguard